BJP Candidate Wins in Haryana's Adampur Poll to Retain his Family Stronghold

In the bypoll election of Haryana’s Adampur BJP won by defeating Congress by over 16,000 votes. Bhavya Bishnoi, son of BJP leader Kuldeep Bishnoi and grandson of former state CM Bhajan Lal, defeated Congress veteran Jai Prakash to keep his family stronghold.

Bhavya Bishnoi got 67,376, and Jai Prakash 51, 662. The two other big contenders, Kurda Ram from INLD and AAP’s Satinder Singh, got 5,241 and 3,412 votes respectively. The Adampur seat has been held by the Bhajan Lal family since 1968, with the late ex-Chief Minister representing it on nine terms, his wife Jasma Devi once, and Kuldeep Bishnoi on four terms.

However, the winning margin fell this time — from Kuldeep Bishnoi’s win by over 29,000 votes in 2019 to Bhavya Bishnoi’s win by nearly 16,000 votes this time. BJP’s Adampur win comes after electoral losses in two consecutive by-polls in Haryana, amid anti-incumbency claims in the state. 76.45 percent voter turnout was kept in the Adampur assembly segment in Hisar district, where bypolls were held on Thursday. Twenty-two candidates, all men, had contested the seat.

Bhavya Bishnoi had kept up that Adampur has been his family’s citadel, and that people have showered their love and blessings on it for decades and would do so once again. Congress leader and former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, though, has termed Adampur a stronghold of his party. Late Bhajan Lal was a Chief Minister from the Congress, he has underlined.

The bypoll was required after Kuldeep Bishnoi resigned as MLA from the seat and move to the BJP from the Congress in August. Bhavya Bishnoi had lost the 2019 Lok Sabha polls on the Congress ticket from Hisar to BJP’s bureaucrat-turned-politician Brijendra Singh. The Congress fielded former Union minister Jai Prakash, a three-time MP from Hisar and two-time MLA as well.

By Archana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *