New Delhi: The BJP got ₹ 351.50 crores or 72.17% of the total donations made to political parties by Electoral Trusts in 2021-22, while the Congress received less than the TRS, Samajwadi Party, AAP, and the YSR Congress, according to the Association for Democratic Reforms.

Electoral trust is a non-profit organization formed in India for the orderly receiving of contributions from corporate substances and individuals to political parties. It aims at improving transparency in the usage of funds for election-related expenses.

The BJP received nineteen times more donations than the Congress in 2021-22 from the electoral trust, the ADR data showed. The total donations to the BJP were over 2.5 times what went to the other nine parties.

The Association for Democratic Reforms, in its analysis of Electoral Trusts, said ₹ 351.50 crores or 72.17% of the total donations received by all political parties in 2021-22 went to the BJP.
According to ADR, the Congress received ₹ 18.44 crore from the electoral trust, while the TRS received ₹ 40 crore, the Samajwadi Party ₹ 27 crore, the Aam Aadmi Party ₹ 21.12 crore, and YSR Congress ₹ 20 crores.

The SAD received ₹ 7 crores, Punjab Lok Congress Party ₹ 1 crore, Goa Forward Party, and DMK ₹ 50 lakhs each through electoral trust, the report said.

Electoral Trusts which have declared receiving contributions during FY 2021-22 have received a total amount of ₹ 487.09 crores from corporates and individuals and distributed ₹ 487.06 crores (99.99%) to various political parties, the Association for Democratic Reforms said.

Eighty-nine corporate/business houses contributed ₹ 475.80 crores to Electoral Trusts in FY 2021-22, 62 contributed ₹ 456.30 crores to Prudent Electoral Trust, two corporates contributed ₹ 10.00 crore to AB General Electoral Trust, three corporates contributed ₹ 5 crores to Samaj Electoral Trust and 15 corporates contributed ₹ 2.20 crore to Independent Electoral Trust.

The ADR said 40 individuals have contributed to Electoral Trusts in FY 2021-22, 13 individuals contributed ₹ 8.53 crore to Prudent Electoral Trust, 15 individuals contributed ₹ 2.61 crores to Independent Electoral Trust and 12 individuals gave a total of ₹ 14.34 lakh to Small Donation Electoral Trust.

Arcelor Mittal Nippon Steel India Ltd contributed the highest amount worth ₹ 70.00 crores amongst all donors of the Electoral Trusts, followed by Arcelor Mittal Design and Engg Centre Pvt Ltd with ₹ 60 crores, and Bharti Airtel Limited which contributed ₹ 51 crores, to various Trusts, the report said.

By Archana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *