Captain Ashton Turner’s half-century and bowling performances from Jason Behrendorff and Matthew Kelly helped the Perth Scorchers beat Brisbane Heat by five wickets in the final in Perth on Saturday to win their fifth Big Bash League title.

Chasing 176, Stephen Eskinazi was dismissed by Max Bryant for 21 off 19 balls.

At the end of the powerplay, Cameron Bancroft and Aaron Hardie took Scorchers to 43/1, with Hardie (9) and Bancroft (13).

Spencer Johnson dismissed Hardie for 17 off 13 balls.
Following this, wicketkeeper-batter Josh Inglis and skipper Turner put on a stand of the 80-run stand. Xavier Bartlett ended the partnership, dismissing Inglis for 26 off 22 balls, with three boundaries. The scorchers were 134/4 in 16.3 overs.

The duo of Spencer Johnson and skipper Jimmy Peirson ran out Turner for 53 off 32 balls, with his knock consisting of five boundaries and two sixes.

Nick Hobson (18) and Cooper Connolly (25) chased down Scorchers the target with four balls to go, with five wickets in hand.

Barlett, Johnson, and Matthew Kuhnemann took a wicket each.
Earlier, electing to bat first, Heat posted 175/7 in their 20 overs. Nathan McSweeney (41) and Sam Heazlett (34) and Max Bryant (31) posted some important knocks for Heat.

Jason Behrendorff took 2/26 and Matthew Kelly also took 2/37. David Payne, Hardie, and Andrew Tye took a wicket each.
Turner got the ‘Man of the Match title for his half-century.

By Archana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *